The Media Society offers CIoJ members a discounted price of £115 on places at its award dinner on May 24, planned to be a great evening – contact Sam Keegan for further information and to book your place: or call 07944 830 787.
Details of the event:

The Media Society’s black tie Annual Award dinner will take place on Thursday May 24 at the recently opened Corinthia Hotel when we will honour Alan Rusbridger, editor of The Guardian, and Nick Davies, one of the newspaper’s senior reporters. Do join us for what promises to be another memorable evening.

Confirmed speakers so far:

Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times

Sir Harold Evans, doyenne of newspaper editors; former editor of The Times and The Sunday Times, current editor-at-large for Reuters

Henry Porter, Guardian columnist and author

Sarah Sands, editor of the London Evening Standard

Tom Watson, Labour MP, Commons Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee.

News of more speakers as they are confirmed will be detailed HERE.

Places are £95 for members and £125 for non-members, if you would like to take a table, they accommodate 10 seats.

The Guardian’s revelations about phone hacking at the News of the World have not only been the biggest media story of the year, but have also triggered a public debate about the practices of the press, with potentially far-reaching consequences.

Alan Rusbridger, editor of The Guardian since the mid-1990s, has presided over the paper’s development from a broadsheet to its current Berliner format, and its embrace of online journalism. He is an eloquent defender of the importance of journalism for holding power to account.

Nick Davies, meanwhile, has demonstrated the highest qualities of persistence in his following of the biggest media stories in recent years, while his concern for the health and future of his craft is manifest: he is an outstanding advocate of the importance of good reporting as the basis for good journalism.

This event is the highlight of our calendar, and not to be missed. Each year the Society honours one person who it feels has made an outstanding contribution to the British media. Our very first award, 18 years ago, was given to the late Alistair Cooke KBE. Since then we have honoured Sir David Attenborough, Sir Geoffrey Cox, Paul Dacre, David Dimbleby, Sir David Frost, John Humphrys, Dame Ann Leslie, Jenni Murray, Sir Michael Parkinson, Jeremy Paxman, Reuters, Gillian Reynolds, Jon Snow, Melvyn Bragg and the late Sir Charles Wheeler. Last year’s recipient was Michael Grade.

The evening will feature a tribute to David Walter, our president who passed away on March 29th. David organised last year’s award ceremony to be one of our most successful, and we were all hoping that he would be presiding over this year’s event. It is only right that in celebrating our award winners this year we will also be saluting the memory of a fine journalist and much-loved figure in The Media Society and our profession.


Related Posts

Comments are closed.