The Institute’s Council is made up from elected Council members (below) and Officers of the Institute, who sit on all Institute committees as ex-officio members.

The officers of the Institute include the President, Vice-president, Immediate Past President and Honorary Treasurer.
Details of the Institute’s elected officers may be found here.

Michael Evans - Council memberCouncil member

Michael Evans

During 46 years as a teacher, head teacher and later as a school proprietor, Michael pursued a parallel career as a freelance writer, contributing to a large number of publications and writing several books. Michael is also the current chairman of the Institute’s Freelance Division.

Norman Bartlett - Council memberCouncil member

Norman Bartlett

After service in the Royal Air Force, Norman Bartlett was employed in international marketing in the European electronics and defence fields. He has been a full time researcher, writer and speaker on technical issues since 1971. He is a Fellow of the Institute and served as President from 2011-13. He was chairman of the Freelance division from 1997-2000 and was appointed Hon. Treasurer of the Institute in 2003-13.

Ken Brookes - Council member, Copyright representativeCouncil member, Copyright representative

Ken Brookes

Freelance technical, travel and aviation photojournalist. Past-President of CIoJ, Past-Chairman Freelance Division, Past-Chairman International Division, CIoJ Copyright Representative 1975 to date. Senior Trustee of Oak Hill and T P O’Connor Fund, Trustee of Pension Fund. Founder-Editor of “International Journalist.” Organiser of CIoJ 2008 Annual Conference.

Andy Smith - Council member, Journal EditorCouncil member, Journal Editor

Andy Smith

Member since 1984. Hon. Treasurer of Fleet Street District 1986-91, Chairman of South East region 1993-2000, Vice-President of the Institute 2000-2001, President 2001-2003, Journal editor 2003-present.

Keith Lockwood - Council memberCouncil member

Keith Lockwood

Member of Council for the past two years. Career has included both journalism and PR.